Sue O'Neill, Chairperson of the Women's Premiership committee pictured with award winners Billie Simpson (Cliftonville Ladies) and Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)


Ahead of the new Danske Bank Women’s Premiership season, presentations have been made for last season’s stand out players.

Billie Simpson received her award for the Player of the Year after a stand-out season with the Reds who finished third in the Women’s Premiership last season.

The Northern Ireland international defender shot to fame after her superb goal from her own half against Sion Swifts Ladies last August went viral online across the world.

The 26-year-old, made 16 league appearances for Cliftonville Ladies, scoring six goals, as the team won the County Antrim Cup against Linfield and were finalists in the League Cup to the same opponents. Simpson is the first player from outside of Linfield to win the award, which has been voted for by representatives of the Premiership’s member clubs.

The Premiership’s leading goalscorer was also announced as Linfield’s Kirsty McGuinness made it a hat-trick of awards since the inception of the awards for the NI Football League in 2016. McGuinness found the back of the net a staggering 24 times in just 18 league games last season as the Blues were crowned as Danske Bank Women’s Premiership champions for a third year in succession.

Women’s Premiership Player of the Year
2016 – Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)
2017 – Lauren Perry (Linfield)
2018 – Billie Simpson (Cliftonville Ladies)

Women’s Premiership Top Goalscorer
2016 - Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)
2017 - Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)
2018 - Kirsty McGuinness (Linfield)

For all the latest news from the NI Football League subscribe to our online newsletter by clicking here.

Match Gallery