Chloe Orr (053)
Billie Simpson (094)
Chloe Orr (104)


Rachel Barnaby (43)


Derry City keeper Molly McBride thwarts a Cliftonville attack (Picture: Brian Little/


Cliftonville booked their spot in the League Cup Final with a 3-1 victory over Derry City Ladies in extra time at a sun soaked Solitude.

Derry City took the lead when Rachel Barnaby superbly put the visitors ahead lobbing Caoimhe Callaghan in the Cliftonville goal with half time approaching.

Trailing at the interval, the Reds levelled through Chloe Orr's cool lobbed finish but Cliftonville were unable to get the better of the Candystripes' inspired goalkeeper Mollie McBride again before the end of the regulation 90 minutes.

A nerve-jangling contest swung the Reds way early in extra-time. Billie Simpson found the net with a well-executed free-kick ahead of Derry being reduced to 10 players shortly afterwards.

The ball crashed off the underside of the cross-bar but the assistant closest to the action signalled that the whole of the ball had crossed the line and the Reds took the lead. Derry's Aine McKeever then received her marching orders for her verbal protests.

Cliftonville Ladies: C. Callaghan, McCarthy, Moran, Grattan, McMaster, Dempster, Simpson, Orr, Doherty, Grieve, Weatherall subs Service (replaced Grieve 103), Burgess (replaced McMaster 106), McEvoy (replaced Grattan 46), McKenna (not used)

Derry City Ladies: McBride, Doherty, McMullan, Logue, Walsh, Curran, Dunne, McKeever, N. Connolly, Cregan, Barnaby subs Lapsley (replaced Curran 33), Coll (not used), McDaid (replaced Cregan 37), Barr (not used), McIntosh (not used)

Referee: Glenn McKinstry