Billie Simpson (23)
Eirinn Canavan (47)
Leah McEvoy (56)


Elenize Belem (15)
Rayza de Souza (21)
Moya Feehan (60)
Amanda Dias (65)
Jaqueline Gomes (67)
Celine Curtis (72)



The Reds started strongly with Billie Simpson and young Leah McEvoy linking up well continually forcing Newry back however they were unable to take advantage and the visitors always looked dangerous on the break.

It was indeed Newry who did take the lead when a corner from Trudi Harbinson was somehow forced home by Elenize Belem. Rayza de Souza then doubled the score six minutes after that when she finished from close range with Harbinson again the provider.

Cliftonville continued to battle hard and were eventually rewarded after 23 minutes when Marissa Callaghan danced her way through the Newry defence to set up Billie Simpson who made no mistake with her finish.

Reds 'keeper Anna McCleary continued to thwart the visiting attack with some outstanding stops using feet and fingertips.

On 35 minutes a long range free kick from Harbinson almost deceived the home keeper but in somehow clawing it to safety she fell awkwardly and the Reds were forced into a change. Megan Wetherall bravely stepped in between the posts giving another young protégé Eirinn Canavan her opportunity to impress from the bench.

And she didn’t disappoint, after only minutes on the pitch she took her opportunity rifling a long range shot past Dhebora Barbosa in the Newry goal.

With tails up Cliftonville continued to pile on the pressure in the second half. Simpson should have converted an Emma McAleese free kick but instead nodded straight into the hands of a relieved Newry 'keeper.

Ten minutes in Callaghan again proved too clever for the Newry defence as she put the perfect pass through to McEvoy who unleased an unstoppable rocket leaving Barbosa with no chance.

However the Reds lead lasted only a matter of minutes, with firstly Gomes hitting home before a great cross from Kate Flood and finish from Amanda Dias restored the visitors advantage.

Former Reds striker Celine Curtis and Moya Feehan also got themselves on to the score sheet.

In the dying minutes Cliftonville were when Barbosa produced a series of great saves to deny Callaghan and Simpson.

Cliftonville Ladies: McCleary, Moran, Kelly, McCarthy, Service, Burgess, McEvoy, Simpson, Callaghan, Weatherall, McAleese subs Canavan (replaced McCleary 40), Orr (replaced Burgess 76), Dodds (not used), Cargill (not used), O'Neill (replaced McAleese 76)

Newry City Ladies: Barbosa, Gomes, de Sousa, Feehan, Harbinson, da Silva, Curtis, Belem, de Souza, Flood, Dias subs Watters (replaced de Souza 80)

Referee: Ryan Hanna