Stephen Hutchinson (04)
Chris Lavery (29)
Chris Lavery (44)
Raymond Fitzpatrick (65)
Raymond Fitzpatrick (86)


The victorious Lurgan Celtic team celebrate (Picture: Gary Hancock)


Lurgan Celtic hit five goals without reply past Sport & Leisure Swifts to claim the Belfast Telegraph Championship 2 title.

The result also ensured Annagh United earned promotion alongside the Hoops.

Sport & Leisure were the only side that could have pipped United but they needed to win all four remaining games in order to do so.

Celtic started in determined mood and went one up in the fourth minute through Stephen Hutchinson.

They doubled the lead on 29 minutes when Chris Lavery fired in number two and Lavery again put the Champions elect into an unassailable 3-0 lead just before the half time interval to leave Colin Malone's men with a firm grip on the trophy.

Raymond Fitzpatrick made the game safe in the 65th minute with Celtic's fourth and with four minutes left, not to be overshadowed by his strike partner, he pounced again to also record a brace and the title was clinched with an impressive performance by the jubilant Hoops.

Lurgan Celtic: McCorry, McVeigh, Adam Rodgers, Hutchinson, Cochrane, Barton, N. Lavery, Haire, Fitzpatrick, Ryan, C. Lavery subs Goff, Rogers, McCarron, Aaron Rodgers

Sport & Leisure Swifts: Nugent, P. Lynch, Gargan, McMullan, S. Tully, Johnston, Daly, McAuley, Largey, P. Tully, Lynch subs Gallagher, Thompson, McGrogan, Moore, Jenkins

Referee: Killian Kerr

Tags:  Lurgan Celtic  S&L Swifts