Chris Lavery (80p)



A disputed penalty decision with ten minutes remaining was the difference between the sides in a fairly even contest at Lakeview Park.

Gary Henderson was adjudged to have fouled Celtic forward Aaron Haire with a sliding challenge, much to the disbelief of the entire Loughgall side and fans. Chris Lavery, who was an exceptional threat throughout the game, fired home the winning spot kick. 

In the opening ten minutes Henderson saw his 25-yard effort parried by Celtic goalkeeper Conor McCorry and Steven Ferguson narrowly shot wide from a similar distance.

The visitors were denied by Ferguson's goal-line clearance after Chris Lavery's excellent wing play and cross was creeping inside the far post.

Celtic went close just after the hour mark when Chris Lavery controlled the ball before firing an effort narrowly past the post from outside the penalty area.

McCorry was called into action for the Lurgan side on 68 minutes to deny McMahon’s goal-bound effort after great forward play by Werner Mullen.

Loughgall: Buchanan, Tavares, Mallen, Hudson, Copeland, Henderson, Ferguson, Dallas, Mullen subs McMahon, Rea subs Uprichard (replaced Dallas 81), Greenaway (not used), Wilson (replaced Ferguson 90+1), Dane (replaced Tavares 81)

Lurgan Celtic: McCorry, McVeigh, Rodgers, Hutchinson, McCabe, Rooney, Doyle, N. Lavery, Haire, Barton, C. Lavery subs Rogers (replaced Doyle 79), McCann (replaced N. Lavery 46), O'Hara (replaced Rooney 46), Patterson (not used)

Referee: Damien Basketfield

Tags:  Loughgall  Lurgan Celtic