Stephen Hutchinson (07)
Stephen Hutchinson (84)


Conor McMenamin (10)
Stephen Murray (54)
John McGuigan (61)
Ciaran Ryan (OG) (68)
Joshua Lynch (75)
John McGuigan (79)


John McGuigan scored twice for Warrenpoint (Picture: Philip Magowan/


Celtic moved into an early lead when, on seven minutes, Stephen Hutchinson finished off a move that saw Josh Barton and Rian Devlin combine to create the opening.

'Point levelled three minutes later after Conor McMenamin tapped home when Stephen Murray nodded the ball across the face of goal.

That was how it stayed until nine minutes into the second half when Murray edged the visitors in front unmarked at the back post.

John McGuigan made it 3-1 just after the hour at the second attempt after his initial effort had been pushed out by Conor McCorry.

It got worse for Celtic a short time later when the unfortunate Ciaran Ryan turned the ball into his own net whilst attempting to clear a corner.

Warrenpoint added to their tally with two goals in quick succession as the game drifted into the final quarter-of-an-hour.

Josh Lynch blasted home from outside the box into the corner of the net before McGuigan grabbed his second with a glancing header beyond McCorry.

Hutchinson secured a late goal for Celtic with a header from a corner but it proved scant consolation.

Lurgan Celtic: McCorry, McVeigh, Rogers, Hutchinson, Cochrane, Gibson, Barton, C. Ryan, D. Ryan, R. Devlin, Wright subs McAnallen (replaced McVeigh 74), S. Devlin (replaced Wright 59), C. Lavery (replaced D. Ryan 74)

Warrenpoint Town: Parr, King, McVeigh, McGuigan, Traynor, McMenamin, Murray, Dane, Moan, Boyle, Croskery subs Maguire (not used), Haughey (not used), Devlin (replaced Croskery 80), Lynch (replaced Dane 74), McKenna (replaced Boyle 74)

Referee: Steven Gregg