Stephen O'Flynn (22)
Andrew Mitchell (50p)
Andrew Mitchell (90 3p)


Dean Curry (03)
Gareth Brown (116)
Garbhan Friel (44)
Graeme McKibbin (OG) (85)


Institute manager Kevin Derry guided his players to a famous victory (Picture: Lorcan Doherty/


Championship One side Institute caused the upset of the round with this famous defeat of league champions Crusaders at Seaview.

'Stute stunned their hosts with the opening goal as early as the third minute when Jamie Dunne floated over a corner for Dean Curry to nod home from point blank range.

Crusaders levelled on 22 minutes through 'Stute old boy Stephen O'Flynn who headed home from 12 yards after meeting a Richard Clarke free-kick.

Diarmuid O'Carroll then thought he had edged the Crues in front not long after only for his goal to be ruled out for handball.

Institute regained the lead moments from the break after Garbhan Friel sent Graeme McKibbin the wrong way from the spot after Aaron Harkin had been brought down in the area.

Stephen Baxter's side levelled for a second time on 50 minutes when Andrew Mitchell converted from the spot after Michael Carvill had been upended.

O'Carroll will feel he should have fired the Crues in front on 72 minutes only to screw the ball wide from six yards with the goal at his mercy.

However, Kevin Deery's visitors moved in front for a third time with five minutes remaining after Crues 'keeper McKibbin somehow dropped a Robbie Hume corner over his own goalline.

But just as a shock appeared to be on the cards the Crues were awarded a stoppage time penalty following a push in the area with Mitchell stepping up to convert once more.

Both sides hit the woodwork in the first period of extra-time with Jordan Owens skimming the bar for the Crues while, at the other end, Daryl McDermott turned a Hume corner against an upright.

'Stute weren't to be denied, however, with four minutes to go when Gareth Brown headed home the winner from Aaron Harkin's free-kick.

Crusaders: McKibbin, Stewart, Magowan, Molloy, Snoddy, Clarke, Vauls, Mitchell, Carvill, O'Carroll, O'Flynn subs O'Neill (not used), Robinson (not used), McClean (replaced Vauls 87), Owens (replaced O'Flynn 74), Holden (replaced Molloy 83)

Institute: Gallagher, Morrow, Curry, Crown, McDermott, C. Harkin, A. Harkin, McGinty, McIntyre, Friel, Dunne subs Hume (replaced McIntyre 63), Brown (replaced Dunne 83), McCauley (not used), O'Donnell (replaced Morrow 56), Lynch (not used)

Referee: Steven Taylor

Tags:  Crusaders  Institute