Jordan Jenkins (46)
Jordan Jenkins (65)


Mark McCabe (51)
Adam Foley (62)
John McGovern (87)


Newry City boss Darren Mullen guided his side through to the League Cup quarter-finals (©INPHO/Jonathan Porter)


Newry City are through to the last eight of the BetMcLean League Cup after a 3-2 defeat of Glenavon at Mourneview Park.

All five goals came after the break in direct contrast to a largely uneventful first half during which neither side really threatened with Newry's Adam Foley perhaps coming closest after a quarter-of-an-hour only to be denied at close range by Glenavon keeper James Taylor.

Glenavon moved in front barely a minute after the interval with Jordan Jenkins finishing high into the net with a left-foot strike after Conor McCloskey had knocked on the ball from a Rhys Marshall cross against an upright.

Newry levelled within five minutes, however, through Mark McCabe who took full advantage after the Glenavon defence failed to deal with a long ball forward.

The Championship side grabbed the lead just after the hour when Foley went one better than before after Newry broke at pace.

Back came Glenavon three minutes later with Jenkins' second of the evening, a low finish past Andy Coleman after being slipped through by Stephen Murray.

The visitors almost regained the advantage on 72 minutes after Eoin Wearen wasn't strong enough with a headed clearance with the ball falling for McCabe to beat Taylor but not the post.

But Newry weren't to be denied three minutes from time when John McGovern smashed home what proved to be the winner to set up a home tie with Institute in the last eight next Tuesday night (29th October).

Glenavon: Taylor, Larmour, Burns, Marshall, Hall, Harmon, McCloskey, Murray, Garrett, Jenkins, Wearen subs Matthews (not used), Barr (not used), O'Mahony (replaced Hall 69), Hunter (not used), Neill (not used), Carson (not used), Hamilton (not used)

Newry City: Coleman, King, Montgomery, Boyle, McCabe, Foley, Hughes, McGovern, Moan, McArdle, Moller Nielsen subs Healy (not used), Moody (not used), Lavery (not used), Rushe (not used), McCavitt (not used)

Referee: Steven Gregg

Tags:  Glenavon  Newry City