Shane McGinty struck the woodwork in extra-time (Picture: Stephen Hamilton/


The visitors might have moved in front after 19 minutes when Dean Stewart hooked an effort past an upright while a few minutes later Neil Lamont produced a save from Mallards 'keeper Cameron Crawford.

Tobermore continued to press with Conor Kearns diverting a header into Crawford's arms before Lamont saw a further attempt spilled before the danger was hacked clear.

It took the Mallards until close to the break to establish a foothold on the game with visiting 'keeper Andy Findlay forced to produced a couple of saves in quick succession to keep the game scoreless.

Indeed, moving into the second half, Tobermore continued to look the more likely to break the deadlock.

Alex Cabral was thwarted on 53 minutes when Crawford punched clear from a header while Aidan McCauley sent a chipped effort against the crossbar.

But, again, Ballinamallard might have found a way through late in the half when Findlay tipped a Josh McIlwaine header just over.

The Mallards did create the best chances in extra-time with Shane McGinty skimming an upright midway through the first half while McIlwaine did well to turn his mark with seven minutes remaining only to fire wide.

Ballinamallard United eventually emerged 8-7 winners on penalties.

Ballinamallard United: Crawford, McLaughlin, Clarke, McGinty, Hutchinson, Curran, Martyn, Burns, McCann, Brennan, Smyth subs Brownlee (not used), McConnell (not used), Leddy (replaced Hutchinson 86), McCartney (replaced Curran 55), McIlwaine (replaced Martyn 76)

Tobermore United: Findlay, Harkness, McLaughlin, Gillan, Kearns, Stewart, Brown, Doherty, N. Lamont, McCauley, Cabral subs Jones (not used), Mahoukou (not used), Healy (replaced Lamont 53), Maccioni (replaced McCauley 115)

Referee: Barry Monaghan