Robbie McDaid (044)
Marcus Kane (057)
Dylan Davidson (116)


Darren Stuart (35)
Chris Ramsey (69)


Dylan Davidson knocked home Glentoran's winner in extra-time (©INPHO/Stephen Hamilton)


Dylan Davidson was Glentoran’s match winner as they overcame a resilient Larne side in extra time, to progress in the BetMcLean League Cup at The Oval.

It was the Championship side that took a surprise lead at The Oval as former Glentoran winger David Scullion broke down the right side and allowed Darren Stuart to tap home the opener on 35 minutes.

Glentoran restored parity on the stroke of half time when Robbie McDaid capitalised to slot past Conor Devlin to level the scores.

Into the second half Glentoran captain Marcus Kane put his side in front with a pinpoint header into the top corner on 57 minutes.

Larne fought back to bring the scores level once again, as on 69 minutes Chris Ramsey reacted quickest to poke home from a corner.

The game of the round lived up to its billing as the game as the game eventually went to extra time with nothing separating the two sides over 90 minutes play.

In the end, it was Glentoran midfielder Dylan Davidson who popped up with the winning goal as penalties loomed, he finished off a counter attack to secure his side’s place in the next round.

Glentoran: Morris, Garrett, Kane, Birney, McGuigan, McDaid, Pepper, Crowe, Gordon, Redman, Byrne subs Nelson (not used), McMahon (not used), Allen (replaced McDaid 75), Davidson (replaced Byrne 90+2), Kerr (replaced Gordon 98), Ferrin (not used), McCarthy (replaced Redman 80)

Larne: Devlin, McEleney, Kelly, Scullion, Stuart, Tilney, Hassin, McNally, Gilmour, Cosgrove, Hughes subs Dougherty (not used), Henry (not used), Finnegan (replaced Kelly 91), Ramsey (replaced McEleney 46)

Referee: Andrew Davey

Tags:  Glentoran  Larne