Andrew Waterworth (29)
Michael O'Connor (50)
Andrew Waterworth (59)
Andrew Waterworth (60)
Andrew Waterworth (62)
Mark Stafford (80)
Andrew Waterworth (87)
Jordan Stewart (89)


Andrew Waterworth bagged five for Linfield (@INPHO/Brian Little)


Andrew Waterworth will take the plaudits from this League Cup tie following a five goal salvo against Moyola Park, as Linfield comfortably won 8-0 to progress to the last 16.

Linfield started strongly against their opponents from Castledawson but it took until the 28th minute to open the scoring through Andrew Waterworth, as headed home Kirk Millar’s cross.

The resilient visitors managed to contain David Healy’s Premiership leaders to just the one goal until the break but five minutes into the second half Michael O’Connor headed Mark Stafford’s cross past Farniok in the Moyola Park goal.

Waterworth added his second and Linfield’s third on 58 minutes as he finished Kirk Millar’s corner after Jimmy Callacher had flicked on.

That goal sparked a flurry of Waterworth goals as he notched a further two goals in two minutes for the striker to take the score to 5-0.

With 11 minutes left, defender Mark Stafford headed home another Kirk Millar corner for Linfield’s sixth.

The goals continued in a relentless second half for Linfield as Andrew Waterworth scored his fifth goal of the match with less than five minutes remaining.

Stephen Fallon’s goalbound effort took a deflection off of substitute Jordan Stewart for the final goal of the game as the Blues finished the game with eight goals without reply.

Linfield: Deane, Stafford, Callacher, Waterworth, O'Connor, Millar, Fallon, Smith, Garrett, Quinn, Casement subs Carroll (not used), Nielsen (replaced Quinn 58), Stewart (replaced Smith 58), Clarke (not used), Doyle (replaced Millar 84), Mitchell (not used), Reynolds (not used)

Moyola Park: Farniok, McAllister, Harris, McQuillan, McClure, Graham, Greer, Forrest, Quigg, Tolan, O. McAuley subs Doey (not used), Kelly (not used), P. McAuley (replaced O. McAuley 60), Curry (replaced Graham 75), Morgan (replaced Harris 65)

Referee: Shane Andrews

Tags:  Linfield  Moyola Park