Paul McElroy (66p)
Ryan Mayse (69)


Leroy Millar (26)


Swifts match winner Ryan Mayse chased down by Jim Ervin (©INPHO/Philip Magowan)


Two quick-fire goals midway through the second half saw Dungannon Swifts defeat Ballymena United at Stangmore Park.

Kris Lowe created the first effort of note after a quarter-of-an-hour when, from a Cormac Burke corner, he sent a half volley just the wrong side of the upright.

However, the visitors broke the deadlock on 26 minutes courtesy of Leroy Millar's curling free-kick from around 25 minutes which crept past Stuart Addis at the near post.

And the Sky Blues might have gone further ahead just before the break when Willie Faulkner's header from Steven McCullough's left-wing cross was cleared off the line by Chris Hegarty.

Dungannon levelled on 66 minutes courtesy of Paul McElroy's spot-kick after William Faulkner was adjudged to have handled inside the area, collecting a red card in the process.

Then, a three minutes after that, Ryan Mayse made it 2-1 with a low, driven finish past Conor Brennan for what proved to be the winner.

Dungannon Swifts: Addis, Hegarty, Wilson, McMahon, Mayse, McElroy, Harpur, Teggart, Lowe, McMenamin, Burke subs Coleman (not used), Fitzpatrick (replaced Teggart 90+4), O'Rourke (replaced McMahon 56), Lockhart (not used), Hutchinson (replaced McMenamin 80)

Ballymena United: Brennan, Owens, Gault, Thompson, Friel, Faulkner, Burns, Ervin, McCullough, Millar, McCaffrey subs Glendinning (not used), Kane (replaced Burns 80), Flynn (not used), Braniff (replaced McCaffrey 74), McCloskey (replaced Friel 85)

Referee: Keith Kennedy

Attendance: 568