Neil McCafferty (44)
Stephen Murray (46)


Andrew Mooney (04)
Michael Smith (76)


Stephen Murray edged Warrenpoint Town in front just after the break (©INPHO/Jonathan Porter)


Warrenpoint Town and Carrick Rangers shared the points and the goals in an entertaining tussle at Milltown.

The vsitors moved in front after just five minutes after Mark Surgenor chipped the ball to the back post for Andrew Mooney to nod past Alan Blayney.

'Point might have levelled a short time later when T.J. Murray met a corner from the right only to direct a header just past an upright.

Lee Chapman was denied only by the width of an upright after half-an-hour as the visitors almost doubled their advantage.

Matt Tipton's side did go in at the break on level terms, however, courtesy of Neil McCafferty's 25-yard smasher of a free-kick past Harry Doherty a minute from the whistle.

Indeed, they might have snatched the lead in stoppage time only for Stephen Murray to burst through and see his goalbound effort cleared off the line.

However, Murray wasn't to be denied a minute into the second half when, from a Sean Mackle header, he finished well below Doherty to give 'Point the lead.

But back came Carrick through substitute Michael Smith who crafted the equaliser with a header in off the crossbar from close range with just under a quarter-of-an-hour remaining.

And the visitors might have snatched victory late on only for Mooney to smash a long effort off the crossbar.

Warrenpoint Town: Blayney, Moan, Foster, Mackle, M. Murray, S. Murray, Forde, T.J. Murray, McCafferty, Wallace, Reilly subs Lyttle (replaced Reilly 27), Lynch (replaced M. Murray 23), Roohi (replaced Mackle 84), McGrandles (not used), Türker (not used)

Carrick Rangers: Doherty, Smyth, Edgar, McNally, McMullan, Chapman, McAllister, Surgenor, Clarke, Roy, Mooney subs Smith (replaced Roy 58), Gage (replaced McNally 11), Morrow (replaced McMullan 58), Malone (not used), Rice (not used)

Referee: Evan Boyce

Attendance: 84