Declan Caddell (02)
Paul Heatley (11)
Billy Joe Burns (74)
Paul Heatley (90)


Colin Coates lifts the Gibson Cup (Picture: Darren Kidd/


Danske Bank Premiership Champions Crusaders signed off in style with an emphatic four-goal thumping of Glenavon before being presented with the Gibson Cup.

Declan Caddell fired the champions in front after just two minutes with a side-foot finish after a corner was headed back across the face of goal.

Paul Heatley made it 2-0 on 11 minutes when he showed composure to drag the ball past 'keeper James McGrath before slotting it into the empty net.

The dominant Crues could have extended their lead by the break when Billy Joe Burns turned the ball onto the post before Jordan Owens rattled a header against the crossbar.

Stephen O'Flynn became the latest Crusaders man to strike the woodwork with a shot against the post on 70 minutes but, four minutes after that, Burns did make it 3-0 with a back post finish.

And Heatley rounded the scoring off right at the end after facing down and beating McGrath one-on-one.

Crusaders: O'Neill, Burns, Magowan, Coates, McClean, Caddell, Clarke, Whyte, Heatley, Owens, O'Flynn subs O'Carroll (not used), Adamson (replaced Caddell 59), O'Hanlon (not used), Leeman (replaced Magowan 74), Hanley (replaced McClean 46)

Glenavon: McGrath, McKeown, Murphy, Kilmartin, Rea, Patton, Caldwell, McGrory, O'Brien, Martyn, Elebert subs Kelly (replaced Elebert 46), Lindsay (not used), Marshall (replaced Kilmartin 75), Lynch (replaced McKeown 62)

Referee: Colin Burns

Attendance: 2014

Tags:  Crusaders  Glenavon