Diarmuid O'Carroll (02)
Paul Heatley (14)
Paul Heatley (21)
Jordan Owens (45 1)
Jordan Owens (81)


Diarmuid receives the plaudits after opening the scoring (Picture: Cameron Hamilton/PressEye.com)


Defending league champions Crusaders picked up their first win of the new campaign with this emphatic five-goal defeat of Ballinamallard United.

Diarmuid O'Carroll fired the Crues in front inside two minutes after getting on the end of a Jordan Owens cross from the right.

It was 2-0 on 14 minutes after a Richard Clarke cross was knocked down by Owens for Paul Heatley to touch beyond Alvin Rouse.

And Heatley doubled his tally seven minutes after that with a 25-yard drive after Owens was once more involved with the lay-off.

Owens finally got his name on the scoresheet right on the stroke of half-time with a finish inside the post after getting on the end of a through ball.

The Mallards might have pulled one back early in the second half after Josh Robinson had brought down Ryan Campbell inside the area but, from the resultant spot-kick, Campbell failed to beat Sean O'Neill with the Crues 'keeper also saving his follow-up.

Owens came close to adding a fifth midway through the second half only to blaze the ball well over.

But Owens did grab number five with nine minutes to go after heading past Rouse from a Matthew Snoddy cross to the back post.

Crusaders: O'Neill, Burns, Robinson, Coates, McClean, Whyte, Heatley, Clarke, O'Carroll, Owens, Mitchell subs McKibbin (not used), Snoddy (replaced Mitchell 74), Vauls (not used), Forsythe (replaced Heatley 84), Carvill (replaced Whyte 80)

Ballinamallard United: Rouse, Crilly, Feeney, Carters, McLaughlin, Campbell, Currie, McMenamin, McCrudden, Patterson, Martin subs McCusker (not used), Smith (not used), Lecky (replaced Carters 46), Hume (replaced Campbell 71), McCartney (replaced Currie 71)

Referee: Keith Kennedy

Attendance: 924