James McLaughlin (51)


Aaron Burns (57)
Paul Smyth (64)
Aaron Burns (67)
Andrew Waterworth (74)
Andrew Waterworth (84)



LINFIELD stormed to the top of the Danske Bank Premiership with an emphatic 5-1 defeat of Coleraine at the Showgrounds after Crusaders’ title challenge fell apart, losing 3-0 at David Jeffrey’s Ballymena United. 

David Healy’s team now need only a victory at Cliftonville next weekend to secure a first league title in five years. 

After a scoreless first half at the Coleraine Showgrounds, Oran Kearney’s side went a goal up after just ten minutes of the second half thanks to James McLaughlin’s 13th goal of the season.

The Blues responded just six minutes later though when Aaron Burns’ speculative shot flew into the top corner past a stranded Chris Johns.

Paul Smyth put David Healy’s outfit ahead on 64 minutes and another from Burns, this time from the penalty spot, gave Linfield a commanding 3-1 lead.

The stunning comeback was completed inside the last quarter thanks to a brace from Andy Waterworth which made sure of all three points and a 17th consecutive away win in all competitions for the Blues.

Coleraine: Johns, Mullan, Harkin, Douglas, Ogilby, McCauley, McCafferty, McLaughlin, McConaghie, Parkhill, Allan subs Kane (not used), Edgar (not used), McGonigle (not used), Doherty (not used), Whiteside (not used)

Linfield: Carroll, Haughey, Callacher, Waterworth, Lowry, Burns, Clarke, Casement, Mulgrew, Quinn, Smyth subs Stafford (replaced Haughey 77), Millar (replaced Burns 82), Ward (replaced Mulgrew 85), Carson (not used), Strain (not used)

Referee: Andrew Davey

Attendance: 2609

Tags:  Coleraine  Linfield