Joshua McIlwaine (66)


Leroy Millar (15)
Tony Kane (21p)
Cathair Friel (55)


Cathair Friel scored Ballymena's third goal early in the second half (Picture: Brian Little/


Ballymena United returned to winning ways with victory over Ballinamallard United at Ferney Park.

Leroy Millar opened the scoring for the visitors after a quarter-of-an-hour after latching onto a Tony Kane corner delivered to the edge of the area before firing past Richard Brush.

Then, six minutes later, Kane was brought down by Ryan McConnell inside the box to win a penalty which he duly stepped up to coolly convert.

Ballymena's third arrived ten minutes into the second half when Millar turned provider with a free-kick into the box to which Cathair Friel got the slightest of touches to nod past the home 'keeper.

The Mallards did grab a consolation just after the hour when McConnell delivered a cross for Josh McIlwaine to direct a header past Conor Brennan.

BBC Sport NI coverage

Ballinamallard United: Brush, McConnell, McLaughlin, Taheny, Smyth, Clarke, Leddy, Owens, Curran, McIlwaine, McCartney subs McGinty (replaced McConnell 70), Armstrong (replaced Owens 53), Burns (not used), Brennan (not used), McCann (not used)

Ballymena United: Brennan, Kane, Owens, Flynn, Gault, Thompson, Friel, Burns, Ervin, Millar, McKinney subs Glendinning (not used), McCloskey (replaced McKinney 85), Faulkner (not used), McCullough (not used), McCaffrey (not used)

Referee: Lee Tavinder

Attendance: 282