Rhys Marshall (35)
Rhys Marshall (43)
Andrew Mitchell (78)


Stephen Curry (55)
Michael McCrudden (59)
Colm McLaughlin (67)


Dean Curry and Andrew Mitchell in action (©INPHO/Freddie Parkinson)


For the second time this month Glenavon and Institute treated their fans to a six-goal thriller at Mourneview Park.

Glenavon twice might have made the breakthrough during the early stages of the first half. Only a perfectly timed Dean Curry header saved the day after an Andy Mitchell cross looked certain to be converted while, a little later, keeper Martin Gallagher saved with his legs to thwart Gary Muir.

But Glenavon did find a way through on 35 minutes when Andy Hall's low free-kick got around the wall before being turned on by Stephen Murray onto the head of Rhys Marshall with Gallagher only able to palm it into the roof of the net.

Then, before the break, Marshall made it 2-0 with a clinical bullet header from close range following a Marshall cross from the right.

However, 'Stute roared back with three goals in 12 minutes to race into the lead.

Stephen Curry reduced the deficit on 55 minutes with an opportunist lob from just short of the halfway line after Jonny Tuffey had been forced to head the ball clear some 25 yards from goal.

Michael McCrudden then levelled four minutes after that after making the most of some static defending before, on 67 minutes, Colm McLaughlin fired home the rebound after Ronan Doherty's initial effort had been pushed out.

Yet back came Glenavon with just under a quarter-of-an-hour left when Mitchell capitalised on a short Aaron Harkin backpass to direct the ball past Gallagher.

And Gary Hamilton's side might have secured the points towards the end only for a Jordan Jenkins effort to come back off the crossbar.

Glenavon: Tuffey, King, Marshall, Mitchell, Sykes, Hall, Clingan, Larmour, Muir, Murray, Singleton subs Grace (not used), Donnelly (not used), Harmon (replaced Clingan 46), Geraghty (not used), Taylor (not used), Jenkins (replaced Larmour 76), Doherty (replaced Muir 64)

Institute: Gallagher, McLaughlin, D. Curry, Doherty, A. Harkin, S. Curry, McCrudden, Scoltock, Jarvis, Wilson, McCready subs R. Morrow (not used), Moorehead (replaced S. Curry 65), J. Morrow (replaced McCready 89), Brown (not used), McIntyre (not used), McCallion (not used), Henderson (not used)

Referee: Ian McNabb

Attendance: 976

Tags:  Glenavon  Institute