Lewis Irwin (90 1)


Peter Campbell (42)
Nathaniel Ferris (52)


Nathaniel Ferris doubled Loughgall's lead (Picture: Tony Hendron/PressEye.com)


Loughgall maintained their push for a top six finish with victory away to Knockbreda.

'Breda started well, coming close on three minutes after a cross from the right by Kyle Mackie was met by Ryan Newberry but he could only scuff his shot past the post.

Loughgall thought they had opened the scoring on 24 minutes when Marc McConnell’s shot from outside the area was touched on by Marcus Dallas into the path of Conor Mullen. The forward finished from close range however he was adjudged to have been in an offside position.

On 28 minutes Newberry collected the ball in midfield playing a great ball wide right to Mackie whose cross was headed wide by centre forward Chris Watts.

Mackie was causing the visitors problems and another cross by him on 35 minutes again found Watts in the box but he headed wide.

The Villagers' opening goal came four minutes before the break when Mark Stewart's superb forward pass was deftly controlled by Mullen. He played in Peter Campbell, running through, who finished low beyond Breda ‘keeper Jason Craughwell.

Knockbreda might have levelled early in the second half after a good run and shot by Michael O'Hanlon was thwarted by 'keeper Gareth Buchanan.

But Loughgall doubled their advantage in the 52nd minute when wonderful play by Campbell, on the edge of the penalty area, saw the diminutive winger find space to cross towards the back post where Nathaniel Ferris made no mistake.

Substitute Lewis Irwin might have reduced the deficit on 77 minutes, facing down Buchanan one-on-one, but the 'keeper did well to save.

Irwin did however score in stoppage time with a fine first time finish in the box from a low Ryan Newberry cross but with very little added time played Loughgall held on for a well deserved win.

Knockbreda: Craughwell, Young, Pike, Hamill, Arthur, McBurney, Newberry, Mackie, Watts, McVeigh, O'Hanlon subs Irwin (replaced Mackie 71), Atkinson (replaced O'Hanlon 80), Culbert (not used), Cafolla (replaced McBurney 46), Rice (not used)

Loughgall: Buchanan, Copeland, Stewart, Montgomery, Ballard, Ferguson, Dallas, P. Campbell, Ferris, McConnell, Mullen subs Hoey (replaced McConnell 78), Neill (replaced Ferris 88), Stretton (not used), Robinson (not used), Rea (not used)

Please note: Knockbreda fielded an ineligible player and therefore forfeited the game 3-0

Referee: Ken Gibbons

Tags:  Knockbreda  Loughgall