Brendan Bennett (13)
David Fearon (35)
David Fearon (45)
Matthew Johnston (83)
Brendan Bennett (90 2)


Philip Wallace (05)
Paul Smith (22)
Mark Drysdale (OG) (46)


Knockbreda manager Lee Forsythe (c) Presseye


Knockbreda came from behind twice to emerge victorious as Ivan Sproule’s reign as manager of Dergview starts with defeat at Breda Park.

The visitors couldn’t have enjoyed a better start when Philip Wallace struck first after just five minutes.

The Dergview lead lasted only eight minutes, as Brendan Bennett equalised for Knockbreda, but parity itself was fleeting as Paul Smith scored on 22 minutes, to once again put Dergview in front.

In a hugely entertaining first half, Lee Forsythe’s Knockbreda rallied and went in ahead at the break for the first time in the game – two goals from David Fearon before the interval on 35 and 45 minutes.

Dergview bounced back straight after the restart as an own goal from Mark Drysdale once again levelled the scores.

It wasn’t until the final stages of the thrilling encounter that a winner was found, as Matthew Johnston came off the bench to put the home side in front on 83 minutes before Bennett sealed the points for Knockbreda with his second goal of the game in stoppage time.

Knockbreda: Smyth, Drysdale, McKenna, McVeigh, McNulty, Copeland, Fearon, Newberry, Bennett, Cafolla, Baker subs McNicholl (for McKenna 69), Rice (not used), Barr (not used), Doran (not used), Johnston (for Baker 65).

Dergview: Hegan, Harpur, Falconer, McNulty, M. Buchanan, Burns, Callaghan, A. Buchanan, Smuth, Sproule, Wallace subs Dougherty (for Callaghan 58), G. Doherty (for McNulty 1), Crawford (for Smith 82), A. Doherty (not used), Kirk (not used)

Referee: Neil Robinson

Tags:  Dergview  Knockbreda