Matthew Callaghan (18)
Garth Falconer (87)


Matthew Henry (49)
Darren Stuart (51)


Picture courtesy Larne FC


There wasn't much in the way of goalmouth action in the opening 45 minutes and all that separated the sides at the interval was an 18th minute goal by Matthew Callaghan.

Good work by Ryan Campbell and Philip Wallace prised open the door and Callaghan applied an accomplished finish.

The visitors who came sprinting out of the traps at the beginning of the second half and two goals in the space of four minutes turned the game on its head.

Matthew Henry levelled from close range after an initial effort on goal deflected kindly into his path.

That goal rocked the foundations of the home defence and when a cross was whipped in from the right a few moments later Darren Stuart had time to control and steer the ball inside Alan Buchanan's left post.

Larne threatened a third with Gerard Thompson flashing a rising shot just over before Buchanan twice denied Stuart in quick succession.

Dergview almost levelled when skipper Tommy Wray's flying volley came back off the base of Conor Devlin's right post following a corner kick before Callaghan and the excellent Wallace combined to tee-up Campbell who failed to get a clean connection on his parting shot.

The pressure on the Larne goal though was building as Garth Falconer fizzed wide from another inviting Wallace delivery before the same player had rasping effort saved by Devlin in the wake of good play by Browne and Campbell.

An equaliser seemed only a matter of time and when Campbell released Wallace his sumptuous low cross was steered in by Falconer.

Moments later Falconer almost grabbed a winner. Aaron Arkinson this time freed Wallace on the right, his delivery was again right on the money but on this occasion Falconer directed his effort back across goal and agonisingly past Devlin's near post.

Dergview: Al. Buchanan, Maxwell, Wray, McNulty, Falconer, M. Buchanan, Callaghan, Ad. Buchanan, Arkinson, Wallace, Campbell subs Arnold (not used), Browne (replaced Maxwell 55), Lynch (replaced Ad. Buchanan 55), Taylor (not used)

Larne: Devlin, Guendouze, Thompson, Bradley, Abe, Downey, Henry, Kottoy, Reynolds, Stuart, Anav subs Tolan (replaced Stuart 84), McConnell (not used), McCabe (replaced Anav 72), Couliraly (not used), Georgaklis (replaced Downey 46)

Referee: Tim Marshall

Tags:  Dergview  Larne