The Northern Ireland Junior International team pictured before their 2-1 victory over the Republic of Ireland.


NIFL Championship players led the way in the Northern Ireland Junior International squad that were crowned Umbro Quadrangular International Cup champions in Scotland on Saturday, for the first time in over twenty years of the biannual prestigious tournament.

The Northern Ireland team beat off strong competition from Scotland, the Republic of Ireland and the Isle of Man. Players from nine Championship clubs made up eighteen of the twenty man international squad. All twenty players selected by Manager Harry McConkey and Coach Gerard Boyle were capped at the tournament and contributed to the success.

Harland and Wolff Welders' centre back Scott McMillan was voted Northern Ireland's player of the tournament, while his club team mate William Armstrong captained his country to tournament success.

Championship strikers were to the fore in the scoring, with all three netting crucial goals. Dergview's Ryan Campbell was the tournament's leading scorer with three goals over Northern Ireland's three games. Campbell scored a wonderful brace in the opening match against much fancied hosts Scotland, as Northern Ireland came storming back from 2-0 down to secure a 2-2 draw. He then struck a vital goal from a superbly worked free-kick with strike partner Warner Mullen of Lurgan Celtic in the end 2-1 tournament clinching win against a strong Republic of Ireland team.

Current Championship leading scorer Mullen emphatically finished off the other well worked team goal in the 2-1 win. In the middle game, Ballyclare Comrades' Mark Kelly capped a 4-0 win against the Isle of Man, who had only lost to a late goal against the Republic in their previous game, by weaving his way into the box before unleashing a sweet strike which gave the keeper no chance. The middle game's other scorers were Richard Thompson, Adam Gray and Dylan Wilson.

The two goalkeepers also played key roles in Northern Ireland's tournament victory. PSNI's Jonathan Williamson pulled off some superb saves, including a spectacular strong hand denying a Republic attacker in a one on one in the 2-1 tournament clinching win. Limavady United's Paul Wells' highlight was a late fantastic double save from a penalty kick in the middle game to secure a clean sheet, which ultimately led to Northern Ireland winning the International Cup on goal difference.

Northern Ireland Junior International squad: Jonathan Williamson (PSNI), Dale Montgomery (Loughgall), William Armstrong (H&W Welders), Scott McMillan (H&W Welders), Dean Curry (Institute), Ryan Deans (H&W Welders), Dylan Wilson (PSNI), Jordan Gibson (Lurgan Celtic), Warner Mullen (Lurgan Celtic), Ryan Campbell (Dergview), Richard Thompson (Dollingstown), Paul Wells (Limavady United), Ryan Morrow (Institute), Aaron Walsh (Maiden City), Ryan Arthurs (Knockbreda), Adam Gray (Ballyclare Comrades), Stewart Nixon (Ballyclare Comrades), Stephen Curry (Institute), Mark Kelly (Ballyclare Comrades), Craig Harris (H&W Welders).