Ruairi McDonald (48)
Andrew Hoey (67)
Marc McConnell (71)



Loughgall manager Dean Smith (Picture: Tony Hendron/


Loughgall secured their place in the top six following an exciting conclusion to the latest round of fixtures which brought defeats for both Lurgan Celtic and Larne allowing the Villagers to leapfrog both of them.

After a scoreless first half Loughgall broke the deadlock three minutes into the second period when Peter Campbell's cross was controlled by Ricky Copeland inside the area and Ruari McDonald pounced to smash home from close range.

The game turned on a penalty decision given in the 65th minute when Marc McConnell tripped Ashton McDermott inside the penalty area. Ex-Loughgall forward Paul McDowell, introduced as a substitute, saw his spot-kick come off the post before missing a point-blank header moments after.

The Villagers, buoyed by the penalty miss, doubled their advantage two minutes later when Campbell's free-kick was squared across goal by Jordan Baker for Andrew Hoey to convert.

And Loughgall made sure of the win in the 71st minute when McConnell's corner delivery was missed by everyone in the PSNI goalmouth and crept in past goalkeeper David Harrison.

Loughgall were reduced to ten men nine minutes from time when Copeland was shown a straight red card from Welsh referee Rob Jenkins following an altercation with 'keeper Harrison.

Loughgall: Buchanan, McDonald, Rea, Taylor, Copeland, McConnell, Dallas, Ferguson, Hoey, Baker, Campbell subs McMaster (replaced Dallas 79), Uprichard (replaced Hoey 74), Upritchard (replaced McConnell 74), Elliott (not used), Stewart (not used)

PSNI: Harrison, McCullagh, McCrory, McDermott, A. Wright, J. Wright, Riddle, Moody, Adamczyk, Berry, McWilliams subs McDowell (replaced Moody 57), Roohi (replaced Adamczyk 57), Courtney (replaced J. Wright 72), Kirk (not used)

Referee: Rob Jenkins

Tags:  Loughgall  PSNI